Twenty-five

Wednesday is my 24th birthday. I get that 24 really isn’t that old, but it’s the oldest I’ve ever been. I mean, it’s almost a quarter of a century; I’ve already burned through 1/4th of my life! (And really, that’s being optimistic…) I’ve done so much growing up in the last year and I want that to continue.

So, I made a list of things I want to accomplish in the next year. My plan is to update this list with completion dates and details as I go along. Let’s see if that actually happens…

Screen Shot 2015-08-27 at 1.08.49 PM

  1. Use my savings account…for savings ($10 per week = $520 per YEAR!)
  2. Finish my steps (12 step program) & celebrate 2 years sober
  3. Read through my 25 books before 25 list (the entire book. Not just 3/4ths)
    In Progress: 1 of 25
  4. Run a second marathon (that includes training for it!)
  5. Work out at least once a week (You know you loooove endorphins!)
  6. Become a “morning person” (coffee and a book before Gus wakes up sounds like a decent start to the day)
  7. Reduce…Reuse…Recycle
    I bought two bins: one for cardboard & one for plastic/glass/aluminum… and I USE them!! 🙂
  8. Learn to drive a manual car (I need your help, Brother Drea)
  9. Go a full WEEK without watching any television (or Netflix, for that matter)
  10. Study a foreign language (dust off that German textbook!)
  11. Pay off credit card (…and keep it that way!)
  12. See the Northern Lights
  13. Graduate college with a 3.5 GPA
  14. Drink more water
  15. Eat a regular, healthy breakfast
  16. Start “fresh” daily (today is a NEW day!)
  17. Stop beating myself up
  18. USE SUNSCREEN (skin cancer is no joke)
  19. Take care of my teeth (more than just the week before dentist appointments
  20. Re-acquaint myself with Human Anatomy (I LOVED that class)
  21. Take a vacation with the Lover Man. Just the Lover Man.
  22. Speaking of Lover Man, Go on one epic date a month
    (Sept., Oct., Nov., Dec., Jan., Feb., March, April, May, June, July, Aug.)
  23. Maintain my blog (yes, this thing. Keep using it!)
  24. Quit complaining (stop laughing, Dad)

I have this amazing life and some incredible hopes and dreams. Maybe now is the time for me to get started on the smaller goals. I encourage you to do the same; find the magic in the world around you.

And if you forgot, just look at a 2 year old and watch the wonder cross their face as they discover just what the sky is:

“Mama! Sky! Sky! Sky!”

“Yes, Gus, that’s the sky.”

“Sky! Sky!”

*repeat for entire 30 minute car ride…*

IMG_0606

2 thoughts on “Twenty-five

Leave a Reply

