Twenty-five Books

My mother instilled in me a love of reading. I essentially grew up in public libraries. The world of books is incredible. For a little while, you can escape to a new world, in a new life, with new problems and experiences. Reading is not just for children or students; adults should remember what it is to lose yourself in a book. There is a certain, undeniable power to storytelling.

In a previous post I mentioned a list of books I wanted to read. Here they are! I plan on writing my own little review after I finish each book.

Screen Shot 2015-08-27 at 1.08.49 PM

  1. Wild by Cheryl Strayed
  2. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
  3. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
  4. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
  5. The Things They Carried by Tim O’Brien
  6. I Was Told There’d Be Cake by Sloane Crosley
  7. A Wrinkle In Time by Madeline L’Engle
  8. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro
  9. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
  10. How to Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran
  11. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
  12. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  13. The Secret in Their Eyes by Eduardo Sacheri
  14. Dark Places by Gillian Flynn
  15. If I Stay by Gayle Forman
  16. The Red Tent by Anita Diamant
  17. The Witching Hour by Anne Rice
  18. The Rice Mother by Rani Manicka
  19. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith
  20. We Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver
  21. The Midnight Witch by Paula Brackston
  22. Promise Not to Tell by Jennifer McMahon
  23. The Sparrow by Mary Doria Russell
  24. The Stranger by Albert Camus
  25. The Awakening by Kate Chopin

Feel free to read along with me!! I’d love to hear what you think about these books. Leave a note in the comments and it’ll be like our very own online book club!

One thought on “Twenty-five Books

Leave a Reply

