Easy Homemade Granola

I suck at healthy eating, much less breakfast. In my attempt to do so, I’ve taken baby steps: Yogurt. The problem is, yogurt is boring and doesn’t fill me up for long.

Enter: granola.

I’ve searched high and low to discover a simple, moderately healthy granola recipe. I found THIS ONE. I wanted to share the love—so here it is!!

IMG_1019

Easy Homemade Honey-Vanilla Granola

IMG_0980

Here are all the supplies I used. The original recipe didn’t use parchment paper, but I did. It makes life (and clean-up) a lot easier! You’ll see in the recipe listed at the end of this post that there are numerous optional add-ins. I chose to use almonds and crasins. Because they are delicious.

IMG_0983

Mix together the rolled oats and brown sugar. Old-fashioned rolled oats work the best—they’re less likely to disintegrate. I also used light brown sugar. You can adjust how much sugar (and later honey) if you want sweeter granola.

IMG_0981

In a smaller bowl, whisk together honey, vanilla, and oil. I used coconut oil. The mixture won’t be 100% integrated, and that’s alright. Just make sure it’s as combined as possible.

A Note on Coconut Oil: It’s solid at room temperature, so I nuked it for 10-15 seconds to melt it down. I used the Kirkland (Costco) Brand oil. While good coconut oil isn’t supposed to have any flavor, this stuff did. It works for my purposes and I really don’t mind the coconut flavor. Just so you know.

Dump the honey/oil/vanilla mixture into the oat mixture. Mix around for a few minutes to evenly coat the oats. Then add in the nuts or seeds that you want to use.

IMG_0984

Spread EVENLY on the baking sheet (again, parchment paper is a godsend!). Toss it in the oven (350 degrees) for 30-40 minutes. The original recipe said thirty, but I kept in the oven for a little longer. Use your own judgement. Just make sure you stir it up every five minutes. It’s a pain in the butt, yet totally necessary to prevent burning.

IMG_0985

Keep ‘er cooking until the granola is golden-brown instead of white-ish.

Take it out of the oven and mix in the dried fruit. Let the granola cool before breaking into chunks.

Store it in an airtight container.

Let me tell you, the effort is completely worth it!

Enjoy being healthy 🙂

Screen Shot 2015-09-17 at 12.44.55 PM

Leave a Reply

