Crock-Pot Pear Butter

More food.

A couple posts ago, I discussed Bipolar II Disorder and the obsessions that often are symptomatic of hypo-mania. Now, you may have noticed a trend in my most recent blogs—they’re recipe based. I have gone nuts. But, I suppose there are worse things I could lose my mind about! Besides, these recipes seem to be well received.

Fear not for I shall continue documenting my culinary explorations. Let us begin!


We have soooo much fruit now that harvest is fully underway. The in-laws run a nursery so we obtain basket after basket of apples and pears. They are so much better than the ones you buy in the grocery stores. Also, they last a lot longer.

I had tried to make pear butter last week with the pears the mother-in-law (henceforth: MIL) gave me. That did not end well for me. I completely botched the recipe.

The LoverMan bought me some pears from the store to make me feel better. Nice guy, huh? The problem with store pears is that they go bad much faster. Since I saw a single fruit fly yesterday, I decided it was time to use the pears before those buggers got out of hand.

Crock-pot Pear Butter (Attempt #2)

 

IMG_1089
Check out these beauties. Ready for the taking cooking!

NOW! Down to business:

Cut up those bad boys into 1 inch chucks. I left the skin on because my blender can handle them. If you want to peel them, go right ahead. I prefer the easier road.

Dump the rest of the ingredients (water, honey, nutmeg, allspice, cinnamon, lemon juice) into a bowl and mix well.

All mixed up and ready to party like it's 1999
All mixed up and ready to party like it’s 1999

Mix in the pears. Toss to coat. Now, plop those suckers into your slow cooker. Set to low. (Not medium. I made that mistake last time.) Then, go away for 8 hours.

Before...
Before…

Let’s make mush! I love my immersion blender so that’s what I used. If you don’t have one, you can just dump the sauce into a regular blender. (More dirty dishes, though. You have been warned!)

... After!
… After! I left a few chunks in mine. Just for fun.

Keep on cooking the puree on low for a few more hours. Turn the lid so that some of the liquid may evaporate Keep an eye on it—you’ll know it’s done when the pears have thickened. (Surprise, surprise!)

Make sure that you are watching—last time, this is when I messed up. I cooked the snot out of those pears. Yuck.

Yeahhhh buddy
Yeahhhh buddy!

Transfer the pear butter into glass jars. Let that hot stuff cool down. Lid those suckers.

Store the jars in your refrigerator.

Heaven. Perfectly delicious.
Heaven. Perfectly delicious.

Screen Shot 2015-09-29 at 12.57.04 PM

Leave a Reply

