UPDATE: 25 Books Before 25

Reviews were promised and I keep my word. Recall that these are my Bucket List Books. Click on the link to read the full list of books. Feel free to share any of YOUR thoughts!


  1. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggsmissperegrine_334x518Face paced and interesting, Randsom Riggs’ first novel captures the reader’s attention from the beginning. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children explores the world of Jacob Portman and the secrets his grandfather left behind. Discovering an new old world, Jacob quickly becomes caught up in a battle of epic proportions. Riggs’ simple writing allows for readers of all ages and stages to share in this spellbinding tale of Peculiar Children.

VERDICT: Should read


2. Wild by Cheryl Strayed

MTI4ODM2MDQ1NjYzMDI5MjU4I must confess: I haven’t finished this one. It’s pretty dense. I’ve been working on it for over 2 months and can’t seem to ‘get into’ it. Wild chronicles Strayed’s journey through herself & her demons as well as hiking the Pacific Crest Trail. Lost on the trail, Strayed found herself again. While very interesting, the book reads at a medium pace. Personally, maintaining interest in this book has been an issue. In the mean time, I have re-shelved this book with the hope to return to it later in the year. Perhaps I will be more receptive of its prose.

VERDICT: Maybe read


TO BE CONTINUED…

5 thoughts on “UPDATE: 25 Books Before 25

  1. I have both of these books sitting on my book shelf and they are waiting to be read. I just have not had the time to sit down and read them. However I tried to start Wild and just had a difficult time getting into the book. Maybe if I am able to have a few days and just be able to sit down for some reading time I will be able to read one of them.

    Like

  2. This is very interesting! I am always looking for a book to read and love to hear what others are finding out there. I think I am going to have to give that first book a try. It sounds interesting!

    Like

    1. It really is interesting! And super easy to read. There’s a whole series, I guess. Maybe one day I’ll be able to work my way through those books as well. ANYWAY, You’ll have to let me know what you think after you finish reading it!

      Like

  3. I found “Wild” hard to get through, too– but I even got my husband hooked on “Miss Peregrine”– they were THAT good! Stephen’s read the rest of the series– I haven’t, but I’d like to someday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

