Not Your Mama’s Cookies

These are my absolute favorite cookies—and I’m not a huge fan of cookies! LoverMan and I made pumpkin cookies a few entries back. While those were okay… these are far and away SO much better.

I must admit though, that I’ve also heard these cookies called “monster cookies”. However, I’ve never had a cookie quite like this. Bonus: they’re super easy to make. You don’t need 7 different bowls! Just one. SO, I finally weaseled the recipe and decided the love needed to be share. Without further adieu, I present to you…

Not Your Mama’s Cookies

IMG_1119
Here are all your supplies! 🙂

First, cream butter & the sugars. Add vanilla & eggs. Mix it all up nice and good.

Look at that beautiful KitchenAid mixer!!
Look at that beautiful KitchenAid mixer!!

Add flour, baking soda, baking powder & salt. Combine that with the mixture.

We don't want normal rolled oats.... we want this fine, ground powder.
We don’t want normal rolled oats…. we want this fine, ground powder.

Now, for the important parts: finely grind the oats. A traditional food processor, magic bullet, ninja shredder, coffee grinder… pick your poison. I used our ninja…the appliance…not LoverMan 😉

IMG_1125

Add those bad boys into the cookie gloop. Time for the fun!! Fold in the chocolate chips and mini M&Ms. This part is up to you: how much of each you desire. I prefer a little more of our multi-colored friends than boring (albeit delicious) chocolate chips.

IMG_1126

Scoop of the dough—I use a tablespoon to measure. Drop them on our phenomenal parchment paper. Put them in the oven and bake for 10-15 minutes. (I cooked them for 12.)

IMG_1127

Perfect. Let them set on the paper for a few minutes. Then shovel them onto a cookie rack to finish cooling.

Even when they’re cooled, the middle with be moist and delicious. I will warn you now that if you decide to share, you’ll need to make a double or triple batch so there’s enough to go around!

Screen Shot 2015-10-09 at 3.15.39 PM

4 thoughts on “Not Your Mama’s Cookies

Leave a Reply

