Salted Pumpkin Seeds

It’s still October… and that means I’m still obsessed with pumpkins! I had saved the seeds from our carving pumpkins to roast them.

People seem to be hesitant to roast their owns seeds. Oh, but if only they knew how stupid easy it is… All you need: pumpkin seeds, water, salt, and olive oil. Boom.

Right off the bat, you need to separate the seeds from the pulp—this may take quite a while, but it is completely worth it. You don’t want pieces of the pumpkin meat cooking with your seeds. Take your time.

just gorgeous!
just gorgeous!

Rinse those bad boys off. Then, in a medium size pot, fire up some water, salt, and the seeds. We want them to heat up to a boil and them simmer for 10 minutes. Easy, right?

I had a picture, but it sucked. So, no picture. But boiling seeds really isn’t rocket surgery.

Drain out the water. DO NOT RINSE! Otherwise you’re washing all that delicious salt off. Sadness.

before beautification
before beautification

Dump your olive oil onto the baking sheet. Plop your seeds on the pan. Swirl around to coat the seeds with oil. Finally, spread the seeds out into a single layer.

Bake at 400°F for 5-20 minutes—depending on the size of the seeds. You want to see some golden-brownness going on in there. BUT don’t let them get too dark… or you will have burnt them to a crisp. Trust me.

after beautification
after beautification

Remove them from the oven. Immediately sprinkle a just a little more salt on top of the seeds. If I did this over again, I think I would bake them just a little bit longer. That’s just my preference, though.

OMG.
OMG.

Voila! You have yourself a delicious, mildly healthy snack!

BONUS: You can make Cinnamon Sugar Pumpkin Seeds, too! Instead of salt, use sugar. Then when you’re rolling your beautiful seeds around in the oil, sprinkle cinnamon and let that join the party. Continue Mission from there!


Confession time… mine totally sucked. BUT I know why! I didn’t cook them long enough. The were not crunchy. They were sad. I would have put them in the oven again to cook some more. But when I went to go make my pizza a couple hours later, I ended up with an oven fire…. so… that happened. ANYWAY, I don’t want my failure to cause hesitance in your culinary exploration. The recipe works. I’ve made it before. However, this time, dear readers, I sucked monkey butt.

One thought on “Salted Pumpkin Seeds

Leave a Reply

